April 10, 2017

Things are 100% slowing down, which is super exciting! I have more time to relax, job search, look at houses, whatever it is I am doing with my life. With that being said, I’m reading an article on how to identify what it is you want from life since I struggle with it so much. It suggests you write a personal manifesto.

Topics that I care about:

Man in my life
With any man in my life, I will not compromise my belief systems. I will not bend or break on my beliefs that we, as a people, can be better and should support one another; that no one person is entitled to more than their neighbor. I will find a man that shares my values, that will challenge me to step out of my comfort zone, and will demonstrate their love daily.

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching,
Love like you’ll never be hurt,
Sing like there’s nobody listening,
And live like it’s heaven on earth.”
― William W. Purkey

Family
As I continue to grow and navigate life, I will maintain my love and connection with my family. I will not let a job, depression or a man come between me and my family. I will remind myself constantly of the good that my family has done for me, and the debt that is owed to them.

“Learn to enjoy every minute of your life. Be happy now. Don’t wait for something outside of yourself to make you happy in the future. Think how really precious is the time you have to spend, whether it’s at work or with your family. Every minute should be enjoyed and savored.” – Earl Nightingale

Work
I will remember that work is just a means to survive. I will remember my self-worth and not let corporate greed distract me from this. I will appreciate the good things about each position and weigh that against the more difficult aspects of the job. I will not work most weekends or holidays. I will work in a position that is personally gratifying that allows me to feel like I am making a difference.

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.” Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

