March 11, 2017

Happy birthday, Blake.

I’m at work currently. I think I will probably skip out a little bit early. Hopefully around 10 a.m.

I’m going to do a mindfulness practice right now.

What memory brings me joy?

Immediately a number of things cross my mind: the trip to Niagra falls, the trip to West Virginia, Stanford. I think I will focus on one hat revolves solely around me.

I went home one weekend and went to Ionia with my family. We decided to go to the animal shelter because I really wanted a kitten. I was checking out a few of the white kittens, but then I saw this older cat – just one year old. I asked if I could hold her, and she sat so nicely in my arms. She purred and was just happy to receive some attention. I went to Walmart with my family to pick up some materials and to make sure my roommate was okay with me getting a cat. After picking up cat stuff, I went back and decided to adopt Precious. Clearly that wasn’t going to be her name, but that’s what her original name was.

Bringing Phoebe home was kind of hilarious. She was terrified. When we took her to my parents house on Detroit Street she just hid behind the couch. Eventually I took her back with me to Ann Arbor. For the first month or so she stayed under the sink in the bathroom because she was so terrified. Eventually she became comfortable with me and came out. Now she’s been in my life for almost seven years, and cuddles me when I need cuddles. I’m incredibly fortunate to have her in my life.

Leave a Reply

