February 29, 2016

This weekend was rough. I was only able to get through it because of my incredible family and two amazing men.

My sister was hospitalized early Saturday morning. I don’t think there is anything more frightening than waking up to a phone full of missed phone calls. My sister’s blood sugar was over 500. Normal blood sugar is between 70-90. Her pH was a six, and the average is 7.41. The doctors said she was pretty close to dying.

I don’t know what I would have done without my sister. I take her for granted, and I realize that. I just always assumed she would be there, that she would be the person I could lean on when things got tough or uncomfortable. She was one of the first people I told I was gay, she was one of the first people that I told about my polyamorous relationship. She is catty, but she loves me and supports my decisions. I need to make more time for her, and invite her down more.

Saturday evening, after taking Nana home, I hung out with Brody. It was kind of awkward, but I enjoy his company. We played smash for a while and had a few beers, well he had cider.

Sunday we found out that Blake’s grandfather had passed away. I didn’t know him too well, but Blake seemed pretty upset by it. I mean, I would be. His dad might not even be able to go because he has chemo all week. I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t go to my dad’s funeral.

I’m lucky to have such an amazing support system.

Leave a Reply

